NaNo 2014: It Continues

Hello again! It’s just me, checking in. Can you believe November’s almost halfway over? I can’t. It’s just flown by!

The first few days were a bit of a challenge for me, I have to admit. I wasn’t meeting my word count. Or if I was, putting words on the paper was like pulling teeth. Either way, it was not fun. So, basically, I stopped writing. Which is bad bad bad.

Then one day, I was bored and started writing. But it wasn’t what I’d committed to writing in November. It was something new and different, an idea I’d found on my flash drive when searching for something else.

Working on this new story, my word count soared. I couldn’t stop writing. Now I’m way ahead of NaNo’s projected word count.

Why? How? What?

I asked myself the same thing.

Here’s what I came up with.

With my first story, a perfectly good story, I’d outlined the entire story. Extensively. But I am undeniably and unequivocally a pantser. I do not do well with outlines. The better outlined something is, the more I have to force myself to write. Forcing the writing is bad bad bad. When I started writing the second story, I knew nothing. I was basically discovering where the story wanted to take me, letting it unfold on its own. The story was in charge, not me. (Or so it thinks, haha) I could write the words because I didn’t know where I was going, I didn’t have a plan or an outline, and I could let myself discover the middle. (I had a vague idea of the ending.)

I was reading Derrick Jensen’s Walking on Water today (part writing book/part education/teaching) for a class and I found a quote that pretty much sums it up.

“I still had too much control… My best writing comes when I give up control, let the piece lead me where it will.”

The quote’s actually a bit longer than that, and perhaps I’ll post the whole thing another day, but I found that it perfectly summed up what I’d been feeling and what I’d been experiencing.

So that’s my NaNo so far. What’s yours been like? Meeting your word counts? Working on something new, exciting, and unexpected? Horror stories? Funny stories? Stories in general? Share them in the comments!

And good luck with the rest of NaNo! May the words be ever flowing from your pen! 🙂

5 thoughts on “NaNo 2014: It Continues

  1. winterbayne says:

    BP Crit 😉 Dismal Nano is dismal for me…but I’m still writing.

  2. brennalayne says:

    I’m generally a pantser, too, but I’m experimenting with being a planner this November. Only time will tell…..but I suspect I may be some kind of hybrid weirdo who gads about from planning to pantsing as the whim seizes me. Good for you for being courageous enough to ditch what wasn’t working!

  3. I’m a plot/pantser, and I knew that I’d need a little bit of framework to do a first draft of my story correctly. You’ve read of my CTGS system in all likelihood, and I’m proud to say that I am still dead on the outline (at the 75% mark), because I kept it loose enough to allow me to write to the goalposts without being forced into a specific location that I don’t want to write.

Leave a Reply

