Darkness Concealed

This is something I’ve been meaning to post for a while now. I wanted to wait until the initial reaction wore off, so that I could come in later and remind people that this existed. Of course, with college being college, it’s been a little longer than I had intended on waiting before posting.

But anyways, what am I talking about? Well, my good writing friend’s first book! It’s published! So you should read it! Why? Well, here’s my review. 🙂

Official synopsis: “50 years ago, the dawn did not come. Again. Everyone in Telthan knew it would happen. Monsters roamed the land, killing virtually everyone in their path, laying waste to anything in their way. Only a precious few survived to rebuild the wreckage of civilization, just like last time. No one questions the Darkening. Not even the children. That is, until four strangers set off in search of answers, braving a forbidden city, a forgotten library, and foreboding mountains for the truth that has to exist. But the past does not give up its secrets easily, and the truth is far darker than the blackest night.”

First off, I love character development. The more, the better. Distinct personalities, backstories, motivations, I love it all. And this story had loads of it. Analytical Ivan, who never uses contractions, shifty Liz, who battles an inner conscious, world-weary Alex, who’s tired of fighting, and small-town Caleb, who must grow into a leader the group will follow, these are the characters of the book. Of course, we don’t get all of their backstories, being the first book of 3, but we get quite a bit, along with personalities.

Oh! The personalities! I have to say, my favorite was Liz, who had me cracking up in laughter in nearly every scene she was in. But my absolute favorite had to be Caleb, who we saw, in my opinion, the most character growth and development in. If I could judge a book just for characters, this would be a five star book, easy peasy.

But, I also judge things other than characters. Things like setting, which was very well thought out, by the way. My favorite was the very hostile town whose name I forgot, (sorry Emery!) and the veerrry end of the book, which I won’t tell you, because the whole book is one big unraveling mystery and I don’t want to give anything away by accident.

Speaking of mysteries, the whole book was one big one, and it was unraveled very nicely. I still can’t believe that this is Emery’s first book, considering. I mean, not only was the characters, setting, mystery, and plot very well done, the writing itself was pretty darn good.

So, I give this book a four out of five stars. Good job, Emery, and congratulations on your first book being published! 😀

Leave a Reply

