An Update on Life, the Universe, and Everything

So, today I found my book on a pirating site.

I look like this===>

Guys, come on. Seriously, pirating is bad. Starling is 99 cents. If you can’t swing that, shoot me an email. In exchange for an honest review, I’ll give you a copy of any of my books. Not kidding. But don’t go and pirate my books. That makes me sad. Like Marvin.

That being said, the joke’s kinda on them. Because, *dum dum dum*, I have a confession to make. Yup, that’s right, a confession. Ready for it? Yes? Good. Here it is:

I screwed up.

You heard me.

Nope. Not gonna repeat myself.

Let me explain why. I made the rookie mistake of publishing a draft too early. Part of it is because I was (and still am) fairly new to this author-y thing. And part of it was I was just really excited to be published. Either way, it’s my fault.

So what does this mean?

It means this. I’m hard at work finishing Starling. I’m mostly fixing typos, awkward phrasings, and the occasional plot hole my betas didn’t catch. (I’ve since reorganized my beta structure and found some new ones, so that this doesn’t happen again.) I’m also getting it line-edited, so that there shouldn’t be any more typos, even ones that I’ve missed. With any luck, Starling should be re-uploaded sometime this summer. Not sure on the exact date.

So what if you’ve already got a copy of Starling?

Easy. Shoot me an email. When I upload the new version, I’ll send it to you. Just like that. No questions asked. Just tell me what format you want it in. (.mobi for kindles, ePubs for nooks, or PDF’s)

So, aside from fixing Starling and not blogging, what am I up to?

Well, lots of things!

I’m getting more involved in the writing community, and doing fun things like submitting for contests and anthologies.

I’m writing a story for my friend’s birthday, but shhh! ‘Tis a secret!

I’m writing a short story called “Only Saving Grace.” It’s turning into a not-so-short story, but that’s okay. It should be up for your reading pleasure soon. And when it’s done, I’m going to see about Codename: Genie 2. Yeah, I’m still writing it. Go figure.

I’m waiting for the last set of beta comments, and June, so I can finish up Crystal. Funny enough, my betas are liking this one better than the first one. Hopefully, that means I’ve improved. Barring any misfortunes, I hope to have Crystal published sometime in November. And hopefully, I’ve learned from my mistakes and won’t publish a draft too early. That would stink. Keep me accountable, fellow bloggers and writers! Also, come November, I’ll be giving out free copies of Crystal in exchange for an honest review, so if you want one, shoot me an email or be on the lookout for further blog posts about it.

And editing. The never-ending editing pile.

And that’s it. That’s all I got.

But seriously guys, please don’t pirate. And if you haven’t, you’re awesome and deserve cookies. 🙂

ebthompson93_author@aol.com

6 thoughts on “An Update on Life, the Universe, and Everything

  1. Any idea what publishing platform your book was pirated from?

  2. winterbayne says:

    sorry I showed the link then 😦
    Lots of peeps publish and then go back and edit. It’s called I got money now and can hire an editor syndrome 🙂
    Glad you’re doing the contests and calls with me! Speaking of which…back to working on the haunted house.

    • ebthompson93 says:

      Aw, you showed someone my link? *eternal gratitude*
      And yeah, I just hate that I made such a rookie mistake. Oh well, I’ll learn from my mistakes and not let it happen again!
      Yes, I’m glad too! And…haunted house, what haunted house? It may have been a week since I’ve touched it… In my defense, I was working very hard on fixing Starling. Very hard. So hard. 😛 Heh. Speaking of contests and calls, I canNOT wait to hear back from BP about the superhero sub. Impatience is getting the best of me, I’m afraid. I don’t care if they use it, I just wanna know what they thought in general. Ha. I probably should give them a little more than three days though…

Leave a Reply

