Books and Amusing Typos

Hello! It’s been awhile, hasn’t it?

I’ve been busy, which is no excuse of course. Part of that being busy is publishing Starling, which is now up on Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Smashwords, and others. Here’s the links, if you’re interested. And please, if you do read it, I’d love to hear what you think. What you like, what you didn’t like, what was confusing, what could be done better, etc. Helpful criticism is always welcome! Also, I know some of you readers out there are writers too. Are you published? If you are, I’d love to know! I want to support fellow indie authors and I’m always looking for books to read. Because books are awesome. 🙂

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/393580

Barnes and Nobles:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/starling-eb-thompson/1118020918?ean=2940045553384

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Starling-E-B-Thompson-ebook/dp/B00HMT87X4/ref=sr_1_15?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1389624952&sr=1-15&keywords=starling

Apart from that, I’ve also been working hard on the next book, Crystal. Editing mostly. I’m sure you know by now that I have a love-hate relationship with editing. I know you have to do it to get better, I just greatly dislike doing it. I abhor fixing grammatical errors and adjusting for clarity. What I do like is getting to write extra scenes, because it’s writing, and also, I like finding amusing typos. Some of my favorites?

-Larkyn and his companion drew their words and advanced on her.

It should be swords, but when I first read this, I thought of some sort of debate, where they pull out dictionaries or something!

-relieving the day

Reliving! It should be reliving!

-Sparks flew and a few caught on the leaf litter, ignoring and roaring into a blazing fire that would consume everything in its path.

I have never seen a fire ignore something. It should have been igniting.

-“But how did they get up here?” she asked. “No one can enter unless I allow them.”

“Maybe it was someone with an advanced knowledge of your king.”

Yeah, it should have been kind, not king.

Those are the best typos I’ve found so far. What are some of yours?

Leave a Reply

