November flew by and now it’s December

I don’t know about you, but for me, November flew by. And now it’s December. I can’t believe how time flies!

I will say, I kinda wish it was still November. Not for any serious reason, but mostly because it is no longer National November Writing Month. It’s silly, but I liked having a community to write with. It was kinda nice to know that you weren’t alone when you were frantically trying to come up with the right words to tell your story. I participated in NaNo for the first time this year (I finally stopped being lazy) and I greatly enjoyed it. And I actually “won”, although, I was worried about that for quite a while. Three days left and I had finished my story but still had three thousand more words to reach the goal. I’m not sure if that’s a common predicament, but it was definitely an ironic one. It does make sense for me though. I write my stories in sort of an outline form. I write all the really important, crucial scenes. Then, when I edit, I go back and add things. The first draft always makes sense to me, but I really have to explain things, events, and races quite a bit so that everyone else understands what I’m trying to say. It’s actually pretty fun because then you get to put yourself in someone else’s shoes. You get to try and think like a reader and puzzle out the places where things don’t make much sense. So, I guess you could say I got a jump start on my editing. Haha.

But, ugh, editing! Okay, okay, so it’s not that bad, once you get all the grammar and typos out of the way. But I have two books to edit this December: Cursed, my NaNo book, and Crystal, which is related to Starling. And speaking of Starling, it’s ready to go and be published as soon as I get the cover. I am so excited! I can’t wait! But at the same time, I’m incredibly nervous. What if people don’t like it? What if they don’t understand it? What if they think it’s silly? I mean, I only spent seven years of my life on it. But! I’m still gonna publish it anyways, because maybe someone won’t like it, but maybe others will love it. So maybe someone doesn’t understand, but maybe others will. And maybe some will think it’s silly, but maybe it’s a good kind of silly or maybe it’s a bad kind of silly. But maybe others will think it’s, well, they could think it’s so many things. I guess it’s a risk, putting yourself and your work out there. Actually, I know it is. And while scary, I can’t wait to share my writing. Good or bad, I wanna know what people think of it. And even if it’s all bad, I’m still gonna keep writing. It can only get better, right?

So yeah, I’m pretty busy and really excited. And did I mention Christmas is coming up? Oh, I love Christmas! Not only because Christmas is the best thing ever, but because. I know someone who instead of buying a gift for their closest friends and family members, actually writes them each a story. I love that idea, but knowing me, I would get absolutely carried away with that. (For example, 3 page epic project in English became a 300 page novel. Oops…) I have so many ideas already, but maybe someday I will do that. It’d be cool. Until then, I guess I must content myself with hand drawn Christmas cards.

Leave a Reply

