NaNoWriMo and Deadlines

I often wonder why I don’t participate in writing events, like NaNoWriMo. I know they happen, I know when they are (they do constantly spam my social media after all), but I still don’t do them. Which is silly because I end up writing as much as their goals anyways. If I’m already writing their word count in the same timeframe, why don’t I do it officially? Hmmm… I suppose it’s the idea of having a deadline that stops me from actually signing up. Me and deadlines (deadlines and I?) don’t mix. I hear about a deadline and my creative juices stop flowing. Maybe this is because I’m a procrastinator and maybe this is because of a simple writer’s block, but either way, it keeps me from actually participating. It’s probably a little too late to join the NaNoWriMo camp this time ‘round, seeing as they are already halfway through, but this November I am determined to participate. It’s on my Writer’s Bucket List, after all. Now to figure out which story to write this November…

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo and Deadlines

  1. […] NaNoWriMo and Deadlines (ebthompson93.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] NaNoWriMo and Deadlines (ebthompson93.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

