Editing

I have a confession to make. I thoroughly dislike editing. I don’t mean rereading in order to catch things like misspelled words or grammatical errors. I actually like that kind of editing. What I mean is tearing apart your story so you can put it back together in a much better way. I know it has to be done, but it’s no fun. Reworking scenes isn’t as much fun as writing them in the first place. But I have to do it. Mostly because Starling was written over three-ish years. There are a lot of plot holes in the draft. And I do mean a lot. So while I think the story’s great (because I wrote it and because I know what the plot holes are meant to be and, you know, just because) I know that anyone else who reads it would be utterly confused in places. Also, much to my dismay, I realized that I was in such a hurry to finish Starling (so I could start Crystal) that the back half of the story is rushed. And kinda lame in places. I left out a large wealth of information that the story so vitally needs. Plus, having a map helps. A lot. As I’ve found out.
So. Editing. I really must stop procrastinating on it. And I really must stop writing other things because Starling really is something I want to see through to the end. Just because. So now I’m gonna go find someplace quiet and see if I can make some headway on this ‘editing’ thing. Bleh.

Leave a Reply

